Three on the Turf in Friday’s Stronach 5

May 27, 2021

Industry-Low 12-Percent Takeout     

BALTIMORE, Md. Races from Pimlico Race Course, Santa Anita Park, Golden Gate Fields and Gulfstream Park, including three on the turf, comprise Friday’s Stronach 5.

The multi-track wager, with an industry-low 12-percent takeout, begins at 4:47 p.m. with 11 claimers going a mile on the Pimlico turf course and is followed by a six-furlong turf event for allowance runners at Santa Anita Park featuring an 8-5 favorite in Hronis Racing LLC’s Lalic, a 4-year-old French-bred filly seeking her third consecutive victory for trainer John Sadler.

The third leg of the Stronach 5 is a competitive maiden special weight event for 2-year-olds at five furlongs from Golden Gate.  Highland Yard’s Highland Ghost makes his debut as the 5-2 favorite. Stay Lit, a son of Stay Thirsty, debuts at 7-2 while North Sea is listed at 5-1.

The final two legs of the sequence will be run at Gulfstream. The eighth race, the fourth leg of the sequence, is an allowance optional claiming event at a mile on the turf for fillies and mares. Glen Hill Farm’s Drapes (9-2) tries to make it two in a row off a 17-month layoff for trainer Thomas Proctor. Una Lima is the 2-1 morning-line favorite while leading trainer Saffie Joseph Jr. sends out Fuddled (3-1).

The Stronach 5 concludes with Race 9 at Gulfstream, a maiden event at six furlongs for fillies and mares. Izhefrosted is even-money in the morning line as the 3-year-old filly looks for her first win in six starts for trainer Victor Barboza Jr. Trainer Antonio Sano sends out Hashtag Lucky (9-2) with Edgard Zayas in the saddle and Gilberto Zerpa sends out Arindel’s Science with Edwin Gonzalez in the saddle. 

Friday’s races and sequence

Leg One –Pimlico 9th Race: (11 entries, 1-mile turf) 4:47 ET, 1:47 PT

Leg Two –Santa Anita 3rd Race: (8 entries, 6 furlongs turf) 5:09 ET, 2:09 PT

Leg Three –Golden Gate 3rd Race: (10 entries, 5 furlongs) 5:26 ET, 2:26 PT

Leg Four –Gulfstream Park 8th Race: (7 entries, 1-mile turf) 5:36 ET, 2:36 PT

Leg Five –Gulfstream 9th Race: (9 entries, 6 furlongs) 6:08 ET, 3:08 PT

Fans can watch and wager on the action at 1/ST.COM/BET as well as stream all the action in English and Spanish at LaurelPark.comSantaAnita.comGulfstreamPark.com, and GoldenGateFields.com.

The Stronach 5 In the Money podcast, hosted by Jonathan Kinchen and Peter Thomas Fornatale, will be posted by 2 p.m. Thursday at InTheMoneyPodcast.com and will be available on iTunes and other major podcast distributors.

The minimum wager on the multi-race, multi-track Stronach 5 is $1. If there are no tickets with five winners, the entire pool will be carried over to the next Friday.

If a change in racing surface is made after the wagering closes, each selection on any ticket will be considered a winning selection. If a betting interest is scratched, that selection will be substituted with the favorite in the win pool when wagering closes.

The Maryland Jockey Club serves as host of the Stronach 5.

Maryland Jockey Club Press Release

"Nice work and well said Jon."

Ryan McCarthy @RMcCarthy1 View testimonials

Facebook