Owendale, Mr. Money Lead Feisty Field of 14 in $100,000 Blame

May 21, 2020

Multiple graded stakes winners Mr. Money and Owendale headline a solid field of 14 older horses in Saturday’s first running of the $100,000 Blame presented by Norton Healthcare – a potential steppingstone to the $500,000 Stephen Foster (Grade II) on closing day of the Spring Meet at Churchill Downs.

The one-mile Blame, named after the 2010 Eclipse Award-winning older horse, is set for Race 9 with a post time of 5:12 p.m. (all times Eastern). First post Saturday is 1 p.m. Dubbed as “Stephen Foster Preview Day,” Saturday’s 11-race program features a quintet of stakes events: the $100,000 Shawnee (Race 7), $100,000 Tepin (Race 8), $150,000 Matt Winn (GIII) (Race 10) and $100,000 War Chant (Race 11).

Mr. Money, owned by Allied Racing Stable and Spendthrift Farm and trained by Bret Calhoun, became a highly-touted 3-year-old last year with four Grade III victories on his résumé including the $400,000 Pat Day Mile on Kentucky Derby Day at Churchill Downs. The now 4-year-old son of Goldencents will attempt to get back in the winner’s circle following disappointing defeats in the $1 million Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile (GI) and $150,000 Oaklawn Mile. His regular pilot Gabriel Saez will be in the irons from post No. 13.

Rupp Racing’s three-time Grade III winner Owendale drew post 8 for the Blame as the Brad Cox-trainee is set to make his 4-year-old debut. Owendale’s 3-year-old campaign was highlighted by victories in the $200,000 Lexington (GIII), $500,000 Ohio Derby (GIII) and $400,000 Oklahoma Derby (GIII). His sophomore campaign concluded with a runner-up finish in the $600,000 Clark (GI). Owendale will be ridden by Florent Geroux.

Other horses expected to garner attention in the Blame are Tom Durant’s multiple graded stakes winner Silver DustKen and Sarah Ramsey’s come-backing $400,000 Alysheba (GII) hero Backyard HeavenSagamore Farm and WinStar Farm’s four-time winner Global Campaign; and Uriah St. Lewis’ 2018 $750,000 Jockey Club Gold Cup (GI) winner Discreet Lover.

The complete field for the Blame: 

1. Long Range Toddy, J: Jon Court, T: Dallas Stewart

2. Bourbon Resolution, J: Chris Landeros, T: Ian Wilkes

3. Global Campaign, J: Stanley Hough, T: Jose Ortiz

4. Alwaysmining, J: Manny Franco, T: Kelly Rubley

5. Everfast, J: Joel Rosario, T: Jack Sisterson

6. Backyard Heaven, J: Tyler Gaffalione, T: Mike Maker

7. Silver Dust, J: Adam Beschizza, T: Bret Calhoun

8. Owendale, J: Florent Geroux, T: Brad Cox

9. Extraordinary Jerry, J: Javier Castellano, T: Dermot Magner

10. Snapper Sinclair, J: Julien Leparoux, T: Steve Asmussen

11. American Anthem, J: David Cohen, T: Danny Gargan

12. Discreet Lover, J: John Bisono, T: Uriah St. Lewis

13. Mr. Money, J: Gabriel Saez, T: Bret Calhoun

14. Diamond King, J: Kendrick Carmouche, T: John Servis

Press Release 

Photo: Owendale. Credit: Churchill Downs

All you folks that didn't get in on the @jonathanstettin webinar are missing out. Amazing stuff here. Time to get hot tomorrow!!

Drawls E Moore @dmoore9350 View testimonials