Ortiz Jr. Wins Fifth Shoemaker Award

November 4, 2023

Irad Ortiz Jr. guided White Abarrio to victory in the Longines Breeders’ Cup Classic. (Jenny Doyle/ Past The Wire)

Breeders’ Cup Press Release

ARCADIA, Calif. – Irad Ortiz Jr., who guided three horses to Breeders’ Cup victories Nov. 3-4 at Santa Anita during the World Championships, won the 21st Bill Shoemaker Award as the outstanding jockey of the event. 

The Shoemaker Award goes to the jockey who rides the most winners in the 14 Championship races with the tiebreaker being a 10-3-1 point system for second- through fourth-place finishes.

Elite Power gave Irad Ortiz, Jr. his final Breeders' Cup win in the  Sprint. (Jenny Doyle/Past The Wire)
Elite Power gave Irad Ortiz, Jr. consecutive Breeders’ Cup wins in the Classic and the Sprint for three wins on the day. (Jenny Doyle/Past The Wire)

Ortiz clinched his fifth Shoemaker Award by riding Elite Power to victory Saturday afternoon in the Qatar Racing Breeders’ Cup Sprint (G1), the final Breeders’ Cup race of the weekend.

Ortiz also rode his other winners on Saturday: White Abarrio in the $6 million Longines Breeders’ Cup Classic (G1) and Goodnight Olive in the $1 million PNC Bank Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint (G1).

Two riders had two victories each over the weekend: Junior Alvarado and Ryan Moore.

Alvarado won Friday’s $2 million NetJets Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies (G1) and Saturday’s Big Ass Fans Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile (G1) on Cody’s Wish.

Moore won Friday’s $1 million Prevagen Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf (G1) on Unquestionable (FR) and Saturday’s $4 million Longines Breeders’ Cup Turf (G1) on Auguste Rodin (IRE).

The Shoemaker Award is named in honor of one of the greatest jockeys in the history of Thoroughbred racing. Bill Shoemaker, who captured the Kentucky Derby four times, won 8,833 races in a career that spanned more than 40 years. In 1987, at age 56, Shoemaker won the Breeders’ Cup Classic aboard Ferdinand at Hollywood Park. 

Bill Shoemaker Award winners: 

2003: Alex Solis 

2004: John Velazquez 

2005: Garrett Gomez 

2006: Frankie Dettori 

2007: Garrett Gomez 

2008: Garrett Gomez 

2009: Julien Leparoux 

2010: Garrett Gomez 

2011: John Velazquez 

2012: Mike Smith 

2013: Mike Smith 

2014: John Velazquez 

2015: Ryan Moore 

2016: Mike Smith 

2017: Javier Castellano 

2018: Irad Ortiz Jr. 

2019: Irad Ortiz Jr. 

2020: Irad Ortiz Jr. 

2021: Irad Ortiz Jr. 

2022: Ryan Moore 

2023: Irad Ortiz Jr.

@jonathanstettin Your article re reading when a horse dead on board made me some $ just now. Untapable was, IMO, odds-on, but dead. TY!

@IReadYourBook View testimonials