Friday’s Stronach 5 Features Four Tracks, Two Turf Races, 12-Percent Takeout

January 7, 2022

All in One Hour! 

LAUREL, Md. – In approximately one hour, Friday’s Stronach 5 will feature races from Laurel Park, Santa Anita Park, Gulfstream Park and Golden Gate Fields, a low 12-percent takeout, full fields, and two turf races.

The action begins at 4:28 ET.

Laurel’s ninth race, a $10,000 claimer at seven furlongs, starts the Stronach 5. The wide-open field of 14 fillies and mares includes Bellswillberinging from the barn of Gary Contessa. The daughter of Mosler drops in class. Icy Harbor, part of a Dove Houghton-trained entry, shortens in distance after finishing ninth on a muddy track. His previous race over a fast track produced a third-place finish. El Bochinche enters off a second-place finish for trainer John Robb.

The Stronach 5 heads west for the second leg, Santa Anita’s third race. The 1 1/8-mile turf event for 4-year-olds and up for $25,0000 claimers has an 8-5 favorite in Keystone Field. The Richard Mandella-trained gelding drops in class after finishing fourth, beaten two lengths, in allowance conditions at Del Mar. The second-place finisher in that race came back to win under allowance conditions. Stage Ready goes out second off a $40,000 claim for trainer Jeff Mullins. John Velazquez is named to ride. Graded stakes winner Cleopatra’s Strike, who has five seconds at the distance in seven starts, seeks his first win since the 2019 John Henry Turf (G2).

Gulfstream’s ninth race, a $62,500 allowance optional claimer at 6 ½ furlongs for 4-year-olds and up, drew a field of nine including Shadwell Stable’s Mutasaabeq, who will make his first start for trainer Todd Pletcher in a year. The Into Mischief colt won the Bourbon (G2) on the turf as a juvenile before going to the sidelines after winning the Mucho Macho Man in his only start as a 3-year-old. Luis Saez has the call. Bank On Shea will make his first start at Gulfstream after winning restricted races for New York breds at two and four. Irad Ortiz Jr. rides for Carlos David.

Golden Gate’s third race will serve as the fourth leg of the Stronach 5. The six-furlong claiming event for 4-year-olds and up drew a field of seven with a 2-1 favorite in Mohawk King, an Irish-bred who drops in class and gets blinkers for trainer Simon Callaghan. Mohawk King finished fifth in his last start behind Freeport Joe, who has won two consecutive races including the Berkeley Handicap (G3). Mohawk King will likely be joined on the lead or as part of the pace by Knockout Bert, who has finished in the money in seven of nine starts at Golden Gate. Foster Boi goes for his fifth win at Golden Gate in eight starts.

Gulfstream’s 10th race concludes the Stronach 5. The one-mile turf event, a maiden optional claimer for 4-year-olds and up, has a 5-2 favorite in Eagle Chief, who breaks from the rail after being claimed by Paradise Farms Corp and trainer Mike Maker for $50,000 at Del Mar in November. Eagle Chief, a son of Into Mischief, is winless in 11 starts. Tyler Gaffalione rides. Golden Indy, fifth in his debut Dec. 16 for trainer Jonathan Thomas, returns with Paco Lopez in the saddle.

Friday’s races and sequence

Leg One –Laurel Race 9: (14 entries, 7 furlongs) 4:28 ET, 1:28 PT

Leg Two –Santa Anita Race 3: (9 entries, 1 1/8-mile turf) 4:35 ET, 1:35 PT

Leg Three – Gulfstream Race 9: (9 entries, 6 ½ furlongs) 4:42 ET, 1:42 PT

Leg Four – Golden Gate Race 3: (10 entries, 6 furlongs) 4:50 ET, 1:50 PT

Leg Five –Gulfstream Race 10: (9 entries, 1 mile turf) 5:14 ET, 2:14 PT

Fans can watch and wager on the action at 1/ST.com/bet as well as stream all the action in English and Spanish at LaurelPark.comSantaAnita.comGulfstreamPark.com, and GoldenGateFields.com.

The minimum wager on the multi-race, multi-track Stronach 5 is $1. If there are no tickets with five winners, the entire pool will be carried over to the next Friday.

If a change in racing surface is made after the wagering closes, each selection on any ticket will be considered a winning selection. If a betting interest is scratched, that selection will be substituted with the favorite in the win pool when wagering closes.

The Maryland Jockey Club serves as host of the Stronach 5.

Maryland Jockey Club Press Release

@jonathanstettin Nice piece and well articulated! Thanks for sharing your knowledge through your work!

Trey Reid (@ReidT8) View testimonials

Facebook