Early nominations for 2021 Triple Crown Series due Saturday

January 20, 2021

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Early nominations for 3-year-old Thoroughbreds to become eligible to the 2021 Triple Crown series are due Saturday, Jan. 23 with a $600 payment.

Nominations can be made online at TheTripleCrown.com or by calling the Churchill Downs Racing Office at (502) 638-3825. Information regarding nomination forms to be mailed can also be found on TheTripleCrown.com.

The 2021 Triple Crown will begin with the 147th running of the $3 million Kentucky Derby Presented by Woodford Reserve (Grade I) at 1 ¼ miles on Saturday, May 1 at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Ky. The 146th running of the $1 million Preakness (GI), its 1 3/16-mile second jewel, is set for Saturday, May 15 at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Md. The 153rd running of the $1.5 million Belmont Stakes (GI), the series’ 1 ½-mile final leg, is scheduled for Saturday, June 5 at Belmont Park in Elmont, N.Y.

Last year’s Triple Crown attracted 369 nominations, 347 horses during the early phase and 22 horses during the late nomination phase.

Horses not nominated during the early phase can be made eligible between Jan. 24-March 29 with a $6,000 payment. Any horse not nominated during the early or late phases can become Triple Crown eligible through payment of a supplemental nomination fee due at the time of entry for each Triple Crown race: the Kentucky Derby ($200,000), Preakness ($100,000) and Belmont ($50,000).

Representatives accepting Triple Crown nominations for the host tracks include:

Churchill Downs:

Vice President of Racing and Racing Secretary 

Ben Huffman at (502) 638-3820 Ben.Huffman@KyDerby.com.

Assistant Racing Secretary and Stakes Coordinator 

Dan Bork at (502) 638-3806 Dan.Bork@KyDerby.com.

Racing Operations Manager 

Kelly Danner at (502) 638-3825 Kelly.Danner@KyDerby.com

Pimlico:

Racing Secretary 

Jillian Sofarelli at (800) 638-1859 Jillian.Sofarelli@marylandracing.com.

Belmont  Park:

Vice President of Racing Operations 

Martin Panza at (718) 659-4241 mpanza@nyrainc.com.

Stakes Coordinator 

Andrew Byrnes at (718) 659-4217 abyrnes@nyrainc.com.

Press Release

Great read! Thanks @jonathanstettin Feels like you’re sitting across the table breaking down the day with the expert pastthewire.com/to-b-or-not-to…

Scott Raymond (@onehorsestable) View testimonials

Facebook