Warrior’s Charge Headlines Ack Ack At Churchill Downs Saturday

September 23, 2020

Ten Strike Racing and Madaket Stables’ multiple stakes winner Warrior’s Charge tops a field of 13 that were entered in Saturday’s $100,000 Ack Ack (Grade III) at Churchill Downs.

The one-mile Ack Ack, carded as Race 9 with a post time of 4:53 p.m., could serve as a prep for the $1 million Breeders’ Cup Big Ass Fans Dirt Mile (GI) on Nov. 7 at Keeneland. First post Saturday is 12:45 p.m.

Trained by Brad Cox, Warrior’s Charge was elevated to first in last month’s Philip H. Iselin Stakes (GIII) at Monmouth after interference by Pirate’s Punch in the stretch. Warrior’s Charge, a 4-year-old son of Munnings, won the $500,000 Razorback (GIII) at Oaklawn earlier this year and finished second behind By My Standards in the $600,000 Oaklawn Handicap (GII).

Jockey Florent Geroux will ride Warrior’s Charge in the Ack Ack from post No. 1.

Among the other rivals that entered Saturday’s affair include Don Tiger’s multiple graded stakes winner American Anthem; Calumet Farm’s 2019 Preakness (GI) runner-up Everfast; Allied Racing and Spendthrift Farm’s four-time Grade III hero Mr. Money; and Heads Up Racing and M and M Racing’s multiple stakes winner Pioneer Spirit.

In total, the Ack Ack field has combined for 65 wins and more than $6.94 million in purse earnings.

The complete field for the Ack Ack in order of post position (with jockey and trainer): Warrior’s Charge (Geroux, Cox); Bourbon Calling (Brian Hernandez Jr., Ian Wilkes); Proverb (Adam Beschizza, Richard Baltas); American Anthem (James Graham, Mike Maker); Mr. Money (Gabriel Saez, Bret Calhoun); Pioneer Spirit (David Cohen, Robertino Diodoro); Alkhaatam (Declan Cannon, Danny Peitz); Ebben (Corey Lanerie, Steve Margolis); Bankit (Ricardo Santana Jr., Steve Asmussen); Thirstforlife (Chris Landeros, Wes Hawley); Dinar (Rafael Bejarano, Cherie DeVaux); Home Base (Joe Rocco Jr., Mike Tomlinson); and Everfast (Julien Leparoux, Jack Sisterson).

Churchill Downs Press/ Coady Photograghy

“For a different and unique perspective on horse racing, I read Jonathan Stettin’s Past the Wire.” Mike Smith, Hall of Fame, Triple Crown winning jockey

Mike Smith View testimonials