Juddmonte’s Juliet Foxtrot Top Pick in Old Forester Mint Julep

May 29, 2020

Photo Credit: Zoe Metz

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Juddmonte Farms’ four-time winner Juliet Foxtrot (GB) was installed as the 5-2 morning line favorite for Saturday’s 44th running of the Old Forester Mint Julep (Grade III) at Churchill Downs.  

Run at 1 1/16 miles on the Matt Winn Turf Course, the Old Forester Mint Julep is carded as Race 11 on Saturday’s race card. The program also will feature the $100,000 Winning Colors (GIII) in Race 7. First post is 1 p.m. Juliet Foxtrot will break alongside stablemate Beau Recall from the inside two post positions, respectively, in the field of 14 fillies and mares.

“Both horses have been working consistently together at Keeneland,” trainer Brad Cox said. “This is just the starting point for both of their 2020 campaigns. We had to alter our plans slightly after Keeneland postponed their meet but this is a good spot for them to both get started back at the races. They’re both extremely talented in their own right.”

Among the other competitors in the Mint Julep are six other graded stakes winners: Madaket Stables, Tim and Anna Cambron and Bradley Thoroughbreds’ $200,000 Wonder Again (GIII) winner La Signare (post 5); First Row Partners and Hidden Brook Farm’s $300,000 Mrs. Revere (GII) victor Nay Lady Nay (post 6); Madaket Stables, Heider Family Stables, ERJ Racing, Elayne Stables and Steven Bouchey’s $175,000 Nassau (GII) champ Secret Message (post 7); Augustin Stable’s $200,000 Lake Placid (GII) hero Varenka (post 9); John McCormack’s $150,0000 Very One (GIII) winner Elizabeth Way (post 13); and Mrs. J.V. Shields and E.J.M McFadden Jr.’s $150,000 Galorette (GIII) winner Mitchell Road (post 14).

The complete field for the Old Forester Mint Julep:

Post. Horse, Jockey, Trainer, MLO

1. Juliet Foxtrot, Florent Geroux, Brad Cox, 5-2

2. Beau Recall, Shaun Bridgmohan, Brad Cox, 4-1

2. Winning Envelope, Julien Leparoux, Chris Block, 20-1

3. She’sonthewarpath, Chantal Sutherland, Steve Margolis, 20-1

4. La Signare, Ricardo Santana Jr., Brendan Walsh, 20-1

5. Nay Lady Nay, Jose Ortiz, Chad Brown, 4-1

6. Secret Message, John Velazquez, Graham Motion, 8-1

7. Altea, Joel Rosario, Chad Brown, 12-1

8. Varenka, Javier Castellano, Graham Motion, 12-1

9. Hanalei Moon, Tyler Gaffalione, Mark Casse, 20-1

10. Zofelle, Corey Lanerie, Brendan Walsh, 20-1

11. Coco Channel, Rafael Bejarano, Charlie LoPresti, 50-1

12. Elizabeth Way, Brian Hernandez Jr., Roger Attfield, 20-1

13. Mitchell Road, Joe Talamo, Bill Mott, 10-1

Edited Churchill Downs Press Release

Great read! Thanks @jonathanstettin Feels like you’re sitting across the table breaking down the day with the expert pastthewire.com/to-b-or-not-to…

Scott Raymond (@onehorsestable) View testimonials