New Directors Elected to TAA Board

December 21, 2023

Photo courtesy of Bloom Racing

Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance Press Release

LEXINGTON, Ky.— Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance Board of Directors voted at its meeting on December 14 to elect six new directors for 2024. For a third consecutive year, Jeffrey Bloom, Managing Partner of Bloom Racing Stable, will serve as President of Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance.

Directors beginning service in 2024:

  • Christina Blacker, Racing Host and Analyst at FanDuel
  • Jay Privman, Former National Correspondent at Daily Racing Form
  • Dean Roethemeier, Assistant Director of Sales Operations at Keeneland
  • Barbara Vanlangendonck, Owner of Summerfield Sales

Directors returning for a second term in 2024:

  • Walter Robertson, Attorney at Stites & Harbison
  • Yvonne Schwabe, Owner of Persley Den Farms

The recently appointed directors will join the current board, which comprised of Jeffrey Bloom, Madeline Auerbach, Laura Barillaro, Price Bell, Dr. Jeffrey Berk, Aidan Butler, Tom Cannell, Dr. Bonnie Comerford, Jack Damico, Joe De Francis, Terry Finley, Georganne Hale, Melissa Hicks, John Keitt, Josh Rubinstein, Richard Schosberg, Mark Simendinger, and Ric Waldman.

The Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance Executive Committee, determined on an annual basis, will be as follows:

  • President: Jeffrey Bloom, Managing Partner of Bloom Racing Stable
  • Vice President: Price Bell, General Manager of Mill Ridge Farm
  • Vice President: Madeline Auerbach, Founding Board Member of Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance, Founder of California Retirement Management Account (CARMA), and Thoroughbred Owner/Breeder
  • Treasurer: Melissa Hicks, Director of Tax Services at Dean Dorton
  • Secretary: Walter Robertson, Attorney at Stites & Harbison
  • Executive Committee Member: Aidan Butler, Chief Operating Officer of 1/ST Racing and President of 1/ST Content
  • Executive Committee Member: Tom Cannell, Treasurer of Florida Thoroughbred Horsemen’s Association and Thoroughbred Owner
  • Executive Committee Member: Mark Simendinger, Formerly of Turfway Park and the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission

Each Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance director may serve for up to five consecutive years. After completing five years, he or she is required to rotate off the board for at least one year before becoming eligible for renomination. Having dedicated five years of their time, expertise, and resources, Craig Bandoroff, Simon Bray, Donna Brothers, Boyd Browning, Chip McGaughey, and Tom Ventura will conclude their service on the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance Board of Directors at the end of 2023.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the outgoing directors for their tireless efforts on behalf of Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance,” said Madeline Auerbach, Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance, Vice President. “So many people in our industry have served over the years to guide, lead, and mentor this organization. To those past and present, we owe all of you a debt of gratitude. I hope that you are as proud as I am to be a part of this unique organization that we have fostered together.”

@PastTheWire I was moved. Had to put the “all 1’s” in the profile name. It’s utterly brilliant.

Mark ALL 1’s (@TriCrownCapper) View testimonials