And the ‘Shoe’ goes to … Ryan Moore

November 5, 2022

Ryan Moore aboard Victoria Road after their victory Friday in the Juvenile Turf. Photo by Courtney Snow for Past The Wire

Moore wins the 20th Bill Shoemaker Award

Breeders’ Cup Press Release

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Ryan Moore, who guided three horses to Breeders’ Cup victories Nov. 4-5 at Keeneland during the 39th World Championships won the 20thBill Shoemaker Award for the outstanding jockey of the two-day event.

The Shoemaker Award goes to the jockey who rides the most winners in the 14 Championship races with the tiebreaker being 10-3-1 point system for second- through fourth-place finishes.

Moore, who won the Shoemaker Award in 2015, won Saturday’s Maker’s Mark Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf (G1) on Tuesday (IRE), and Friday’s Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf (G1) on Victoria Road (IRE) and the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf (G1) on Meditate (IRE).

Moore picked up three seconds with Stone Age (IRE) in the Longines Breeders’ Cup Turf (G1), Emaraaty Ana (GB) in the Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint (G1) and Dramatised (IRE) in the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint (G1).

Irad Ortiz Jr., winner of the past four Shoemaker Awards, also rode three winners but only had one runner-up finish to Moore’s three.

Ortiz won the FanDuel Breeders’ Cup Juvenile (G1) presented by Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance on Forte, the Breeders’s Cup Filly & Mare Sprint (G1) on Goodnight Olive and the Qatar Racing Breeders’ Cup Sprint (G1) on Elite Power.

The Shoemaker Award is named in honor of one of the greatest jockeys in the history of Thoroughbred racing. Shoemaker, who captured the Kentucky Derby four times, won 8,833 races in a career that spanned more than 40 years. In 1987, at age 56, Shoemaker won the Breeders’ Cup Classic (G1) aboard Ferdinand at Hollywood Park.

Bill Shoemaker Award Winners

2003: Alex Solis

2004: John Velazquez

2005: Garrett Gomez

2006: Frankie Dettori

2007: Garrett Gomez

2008: Garrett Gomez

2009: Julien Leparoux

2010: Garrett Gomez

2011: John Velazquez

2012: Mike Smith

2013: Mike Smith

2014: John Velazquez

2015: RyanMoore

2016: MikeSmith

2017: Javier Castellano

2018: Irad Ortiz Jr.

2019: Irad Ortiz Jr.

2020: Irad Ortiz Jr.

2021: Irad Ortiz Jr.

2022: Ryan Moore

@Tracking_Trips baaaaaannnnngggggg, still making money on vacation days with Big Jon. Let's go here.

Ryne Olsen @ryne_olsen View testimonials



Leave a Comment